National Housing for Older People Awards 2017 EAC Housing for Older People Award - Retirement housing EAC Housing for Older People Award - Housing with care

Voting is now open !
Closing date
28th February 2017


Your vote matters - 17th February 2017: 7,880 votes in,
from 1,065 housing schemes managed by 188 organisations

Vote for the best retirement property of 2017!

  • Residents, visitors and staff can all vote for their scheme.
  • Voting online or download a voting form
  • One email address, one person = one vote only
  • Residents with no online access can ask someone to vote on their behalf

or go to

Finalists will be announced in early March 2017.
The winners will be declared on 16th May 2017 at the Awards celebration at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground in Birmingham.

Let everyone know!

If you would like to promote the Awards in your retirement housing schemes, download our poster here and pop it up around your development!

For more information about the Awards, email or call 020 7820 3755
Download our Sponsorship Options


Who can vote?

- Residents

- Anyone who works in the scheme – in whatever capacity:

  • full-time
  • part-time
  • volunteer

- Visitors to the scheme

  • relatives
  • friends
  • carers
  • service providers

What if someone is unable to vote online?

No problem. Feel free to help someone by voting on their behalf. But remember, one vote per email address!
You can also download a voting form for residents unable to vote online or to find someone to do it for them. 

What is a ‘scheme’?

A scheme means any building or development where older people live:
  • retirement housing
  • sheltered housing
  • extra care housing
  • assisted living
  • any other specialist housing for later life

How does a scheme win?

The selection of finalists and winners will be decided by the number of votes (nominations) in proportion to the number of residents in a scheme. There should be a substantial number of residents among the voters for a scheme to be considered for an award. The star rating will also contribute to the selection.
As in previous years finalists will be divided in 10 or 11 categories: i.e. in 2 types (standard and housing-with-care) and 4 or 5 size groups, leading to 30 or so bronze, silver and gold awards. There will also be high commendation certificates for many schemes in each categories.
EAC will allow itself a limited discretion in the selection of finalists and winners to ensure that a maximum number of housing providers are rewarded.
Winners will be notified in early March 2017, but the actual bronze, silver and gold awards will only be announced at the Awards celebration.

How will you celebrate?

The Awards will take place on 16th May 2017 at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground, Birmingham. All winning schemes will be invited to book places for their residents, staff and friends, at the now traditional event with its successful mix of entertainment, music, topical speeches, good food, suspense and cheers. You can download programme here.

What happens to the voting data?

Data collected via this application will only be used for the selection of the 2017 Awards’ finalists and winners. None of the information collected will ever be used as ‘survey’ material or in conjunction with other surveys carried out by EAC.
EAC will not contact any person using this voting app, unless error or fraud is suspected. Otherwise email addresses obtained via this application will not be used again for any purpose whatsoever by EAC or by the technical services supporting it, and will be deleted by EAC within 6 months following the announcements of the finalists and winners of these Awards. 

To finance these non-profit making Awards, EAC relies on its core sponsor, Legal & General, on the awards categories’ sponsors and on the sales of places at the Awards celebration.
Sponsored by:
Legal & General