EAC Housing for Older People Award - Housing with care

National Housing for Older People Awards

Each year EAC celebrates the best examples of housing for later life. The main event is greatly enjoyed by 300 guests, including the residents of the winning schemes. All housing schemes that have used the EAC Resident Consultation Service (RCS), with its popular card game, are automatically entered for the current EAC Housing Awards. Our IT systems select the winning schemes, and allocate the bronze, silver and gold awards in 11 categories of size and types.

Awards card Elderly people filling in the awards cards

by Sue Hendry, Hawthorn Mill, Connect Housing

Aims of the Awards

  • Publicly celebrate the best specialist housing for older people
  • Engage thousands of residents in identifying what contributes to quality of life in traditional and emerging models of specialist housing provision
  • Ensure that older people, families and carers have access to the best possible information
  • Help shape the future of housing in later life

The Awards

Residents, Managers and Wardens

These Awards can be fun. The nomination game (card game) is well worth playing; it stimulates interesting conversations between residents on a variety of important issues. It also contains notes on how to help residents play the game without compromising their confidentiality.

Watch residents play the nomination game here. A limited number of this 10min DVD are available on request from housingawards@eac.org.uk.

Our independent Resident Consultation Service (RCS) enters your schemes automatically for the current year’s Awards.

Quotes from participants:

“Tenants understood how to complete forms after instruction and then there was no input from staff during the process, all papers were sealed in envelopes by the individual groups ready for the post. Everyone commented how much they enjoyed it!” - Hawthorn Mill, Connect Housing.

“Our tenants have taken part in the nomination; we had three groups and they all enjoyed taking part” – St Columba Court, Anchor Retirement.

“...we had a great afternoon yesterday with 3 groups of residents playing the cards... We managed to engage with a number of residents who receive care services and do not always find it easy to get to social events. All agreed that it was an interesting and enjoyable way of discussing feelings on the place that we live in and the services we receive” – Chairman, Friends of Mill Rise, Aspire Housing.


Our core sponsor is Legal & General.